Schreyer Honors College (SHC)at Penn State

Outstanding Scholar Alumni Award

The Outstanding Scholar Alumni Award recognizes graduates who demonstrate exemplary leadership skills, professional achievement, and a passion for lifelong learning.

All graduates of the University Scholars Program and the Schreyer Honors College who have met and fulfilled the requirements to earn an honors diploma from The Pennsylvania State University are eligible for nomination.

Members of the Scholar Alumni Society select one male and one female award recipent each year.

The Outstanding Scholar Alumni awards are presented during the College's Alumni and Faculty Awards Program in the fall of each year.

Past Recipients


  • Christa Hasenkopf '03 Sci
  • Herman Ponzer '99 Lib


  • Jayatri Das '99 Sci
  • Jared Edgar McKnight '11 A&A, Lib


  • Jenna R. Knapp '02 Edu
  • Andrew El Bardissi '03 Sci


  • Meena Bose '90 Lib
  • Shawn D. Safford '92 Sci


  • Farnoosh Torabi '02 Bus
  • Michael Rieker '90 HHD


  • Stella Tsai '85 Lib
  • Casimer DeCusatis '86 Eng


  • Reginald D. Hedgebeth '89 Lib
  • Dawn M. Trautman '87 Bus


  • Lisa P. Baird '82 Lib, '84g Bus
  • Peter W. Klein '91 Lib


  • Kelly A. Ayotte '90 Lib
  • Kevin D. Frick '91 HHD


  • Stephanie Hulina '92 Lib
  • John Woerner '91 Bus


  • Ann Hsu '89 Eng
  • Richard Spontak '83 Eng


  • Doug Evans '86 Eng
  • Mary Beth Long '85 Com


Nominations can be for self or others, and nominators must be prepared to provide contact information, educational and other notable achievements, and briefly explain how their career achievements support the mission of the Schreyer Honors College.

Nominations are due Friday, July 6, 2018 at 5:00 PM. Award recipients will be contacted in advance and invited to University Park for an awards ceremony on Friday, October 20, 2018. The nomination form and more specific information can be found here.

Get To Know Schreyer