Schreyer Honors College (SHC)at Penn State

Distinguished Honors Faculty Program (DHFP)

DHFP discussion over tea

At the Schreyer Honors College we have an inspired program, The Distinguished Honors Faculty Program (DHFP), that at the heart is about sharing information and connecting with some of the most distinguished faculty at Penn State.

Select faculty together with Schreyer Scholars participate in innovative, interactive programs that extend learning way beyond classroom walls.

Sometimes over dinner table conversations, often during field trips, and always in small-group discussions on timely topics, Distinguished Honors Faculty and students share experiences and perspectives that may venture beyond the labels and definition of an academic major or course.

This is a program deeply rooted in the belief that when you create small group learning experiences that are relaxed, well-conceived and special, students and faculty connect with each other in profound ways. Over the past six years, hundreds of inspired programs — from visiting the Smithsonian to learning about the importance of effective and thoughtful end of life communication—our Scholars and our Distinguished Honors Faculty members have participated in transformational learning experiences.

Faculty members submit proposals outlining programs to be offered should they be selected for the program. Typically, faculty are selected to participate in the program for two consecutive academic years.

Announcements about upcoming Distinguished Honors Faculty Program activities will be e-mailed to Schreyer Scholars over the course of the academic year.

Faculty Members

Eliyana Rebecca Adler headshot

Eliyana Rebecca Adler Associate Professor, History and Jewish Studies

Pearl Gluck headshot

Pearl Gluck Assistant Professor, Film

Ying-Ling Jao headshot

Ying-Ling Jao Assistant Professor, Nursing

Kenji Uchino headshot

Kenji Uchino Professor, Electrical Engineering

David Witwer headshot

David Witwer Professor, History and Humanities

Ming Xiao headshot

Ming Xiao Associate Professor, Civil Engineering

Andrew Zydney headshot

Andrew Zydney Distinguished Professor, Chemical Engineering


For more information about the Distinguished Honors Faculty Program, please contact:

SHC Academic Team
(814) 865-4257

Get To Know Schreyer